Home > Writing Ideas > Trip over any book ideas today, writer?

Trip over any book ideas today, writer?


 

Or short story topics? Or blog posts you didn’t know you needed to write?

What Started This Rant:

A tweet sent me to Mashable Social Media’s Facebook page to see their featured “18 Facebook Users You Should Subscribe to” (sic). Their Number 4 copy read: “New York Times tech columnist Nick Bilton keeps subscribers on top of his latest industry musings and adventures. For instance, did you know he recently had dinner with a robot?”

It’s the ‘What If‘s’ Stupid.

I read two more subscribe-to suggestions before the brain cells reached consciousness. Have dinner with a robot? What if I didn’t know my date was a robot? What if Nick Bilton didn’t know his date was a robot? What if he took her home? What if … Now I’ll let your imagination take over. (I am a sci-fi aficionado, as well as sometimes fantasy romance writer.)

This is my life. I’ve already taken notes on that one short sentence, and can imagine everything from a short story to a TV sitcom to a full-fledged sci-fi fantasy novel about a sales rep for a personal companion robot business. It’s stored away with all the other ideas I may or may not decide to write.

So Get to the Point!

My point being, don’t trip over the ideas, stumble, and continue clicking.

Yes, keep clicking, but not until you’ve logged the idea. I don’t care if it’s on your dirty lunch napkin, or in your iPhone. Acknowledge it. Go with it for just a few beats. See where it wants to go. Write or type it. That locks it in memory too, besides giving you a visual reminder you’ll stumble upon at some later date.

I’ve lost more blog post rants because I didn’t stop what I was doing at the time; so sure I was that I couldn’t lose such a brilliant idea. I hate to predict your future, but establishing good writing routines now will help you down the road. After you hit the big 40 mark – and you will – thoughts and ideas start to leap from your brain straight out your head, never to be imagined again. Others will replace it, but who knows which brilliant idea was destined to be your lifetime best. And you won’t sit staring at the wall trying to come up with an idea, wasting your writing time. You just have to choose one.

For more on writing ideas and everyday habits, go to http://wilsonwritings.com. Alex Wilson offers lots to see and read, but I can’t tell you what he visualized over a pair of woman’s stiletto heels!

 

Categories: Writing Ideas
  1. September 7, 2012 at 9:30 AM

    You really make it seem really easy with your presentation but I in finding this matter to be actually one thing which I think I might by no means understand. It seems too complicated and very vast for me. I’m having a look ahead on your subsequent post, I will attempt to get the hold of it!

    Like

    • September 8, 2012 at 11:25 AM

      Thank you for reading and commenting on my blog. I’m sorry it seemed complicated. It was about writing and ideas. Please keep making suggestions. I appreciate it.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Like me enough to comment?

#1000Speak for Compassion

Speaking for GOOD on the 20th of every month

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

newauthoronline

K Morris, Poet and Author

andreaspiritualsoulpartners

Just another WordPress.com site

John Maberry's Writing

Excerpts from John's current or future work

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

baseballworldbjt

A Fan's Perspective on Major League Baseball

Elemental Mercury

Musings on a creative and spiritual life

The Real Delia

Home of Author, Delia Remington

deeannelizabethuptownstyle

Fashion,Jewelry,style,diamonds,purses,clothes

