Home > Home > Web Log 2012.9.6: Home Sick on Labor Day

Web Log 2012.9.6: Home Sick on Labor Day


Nearly eight years ago I traded the NY/NJ/CT tri-state area for the Cal/Nev/Ari tri-state area. I needed a job; I needed space and I needed a new start. I had visited friends in Las Vegas often enough to know I could find all three requirements there.

This eight-year happy Nevadan decided to treasure and hoard all three days of the 2012 Labor Day weekend for herself and her 13-year-old ‘puppies’. Just the three of us with almost nothing to do. Time stretching out ad infinitum to fill like kids out of school for a summer vacay replay. Haven’t you always wanted to do that again? Just once?

Well don’t even try it! Get it right out of your head. You’re not a kid anymore. Your parents won’t tell you it’s a bad idea; that everything you decide to do will backfire. TV? All repeats of the only four shows you watched all season. Catch up on phone calls and gossip? Nobody’s home. It’s Labor Day, dummy. They’re out having fun or shopping. Until you start a movie on one of the premium channels, then you get back-to-back phone calls for two hours.

Those adorable little puppies? They must have taken possession of the training manual for exes, because I swear one of them had moved back in. They were whiny, demanding, hungry, sleepy, sneezy – all seven of those dwarfs – when not barking at every man, woman, dog, motorcycle, and child (on bike or wagon or stroller) that traveled past my house. Excuse me, their house. I decided to get them out of that house, go to the park and take a walk. It couldn’t be more than 110 degrees in Las Vegas, could it? But there’s lots of shade trees and grass. Yes, and every family with a minimum of four children in a three-mile radius had taken their own refuge in the park, along with their family’s pit bull and rottie, off-leash of course while I’m walking two little Napoleons (saving that for a later post rant).

Flash to the Monday morning last day of holiday weekend. There I am working my Twitter/Facebook accounts; putting together a Sauder three-shelf bookcase; cooking up supplemental snacks for the boys and cleaning out the pile of books, newspapers, to-be-filed, and other assorted trivia I’ve picked up over the last few months (read years). The dogs are much happier when I’m working at something. They’ve chosen their favorite nap stations around me (work makes them tired).

And me? My summer vacay replay? I actually had it shortened into a two-hour frolic down memory lane that ended in tears of happy memories. I keep a basket on the end of my dresser where I toss greeting cards I receive that strike a chord. The chord sometimes sounds funny, heart-warming, reminiscent – whatever it is, I save it ’til I think I’m ready to part with the card. By the time I got through 2008 birthday and surgery get-well cards from family, friends and treasured former co-workers, I was dribbling tears and giggles. I put their rubber bands back on, shoved them back in the basket.

Here’s my thinking, kids. You get homesick for more than home, more than a place, more than family. You get homesick for relationships; a certain period in your life, having it all together for a brief shining moment in the Camelot of your life (there aren’t many of those, trust me). So while I got sick at home from frustration, I ended up happily homesick at home as well, reliving those warm and loving acknowledgments from the past. They went back in the basket, too precious still.

POSTSCRIPT: If you’ve never seen the film “Camelot” with Richard Harris and Vanessa Redgrave, find it and view it. Major classic, and the Arthurian Legend never grows old. Adapted from the T. H. White novel The Once and Future King, also well worth reading, it makes you laugh. cheer and cry. Get over the fact it’s a musical. Then find the soundtrack at your library (yes, your library can still help you), but get the soundtrack from the Broadway production, starring Richard Burton and Julie Andrews. Nothing better than Richard Burton talking his way through the Camelot theme song, ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8h7E5rtnFH4&feature=player_embedded ) watch ’til the end – it’s the best part! (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camelot_%28musical%29) Read the background on Wiki.

Then come back and tell me what you thought. Could you give yourself over to the vision? Have you had a Camelot moment yet? Do you have a book/film of significance in your life?

 

Categories: Home
  1. September 7, 2012 at 6:42 PM

    Hi my loved one! I want to say that this article is amazing, great written and include almost all significant infos. I would like to peer extra posts like this .

    Like

  2. September 9, 2012 at 9:21 AM

    I just couldn’t depart your web site before suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual info a person provide in your visitors? Is going to be again regularly to investigate cross-check new posts

    Like

    • September 10, 2012 at 12:41 AM

      I hope you stop by again and leave me another message!

      Like

  3. September 9, 2012 at 7:12 PM

    Usually I do not read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, quite nice article.

    Like

    • September 10, 2012 at 12:38 AM

      Thank you for taking the time to read and to send me your appreciation.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Like me enough to comment?

#1000Speak for Compassion

Speaking for GOOD on the 20th of every month

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

newauthoronline

K Morris, Poet and Author

andreaspiritualsoulpartners

Just another WordPress.com site

John Maberry's Writing

Excerpts from John's current or future work

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

baseballworldbjt

A Fan's Perspective on Major League Baseball

Elemental Mercury

Musings on a creative and spiritual life

The Real Delia

Home of Author, Delia Remington

deeannelizabethuptownstyle

Fashion,Jewelry,style,diamonds,purses,clothes

