Home > Writing Ideas > What Are the Odds of Success? …Really?

What Are the Odds of Success? …Really?


From Linda: Sometimes my ADD/OCD personality pays off, even for a writer! A couple of weeks ago I made a comment in one of the LinkedIn groups that I was most inspired and encouraged in my path to author-hood by a blog post I read several months back. Couldn’t remember at the time whose blog it was in … couldn’t remember the percentages quoted (I’m not a numbers kinda girl) … Yeah, a really helpful and informative comment. I never should have stopped what I had been doing to check e-mail. Double never should have made that comment.

But surprisingly several readers commented back, agreeing that it was inspiring and encouraging. That yes, they too wanted to beat the odds and be in the top XX% of those who worked hard and carried on when others didn’t. That continuing the effort gives them an extra boost up the ladder. As it turned out, the actual percentages didn’t matter. I received the important message. So I started researching to find that post again. First choice, knowing who I followed fairly regularly and most often opened their emails because of the headlines, was Kristen Lamb, WANA Queen. I was right, for once!

So I’m re-blogging her post here, with apologies for not giving her credit, and not singing her praises far and wide sooner. She does it all perfectly. And it’s interesting, and humorous, and sometimes shows her flaws and mistakes (really they’re nothing, hardly anything. Just because she calls her son Spawn doesn’t mean anything …).

So enjoy what inspired me, and if you don’t follow her already, be sure to check out Kristen Lamb’s Blog WarriorWriters.wordpress.com. Then click the tab for #MyWANA. You know you’ll want to!

Kristen Lamb's Blog

A couple weeks ago, I taught at the DFW conference and someone mentioned this post I wrote a long time ago. For the benefit of those who’ve not yet read it…or those of you who’ve slept since then, I figured I’d modify it to make it current. I hope this helps ease the angst you might have about how hard it is to become a success.

What Are the Odds….Really?

I didn’t even consider becoming a writer until 1999 after my father passed away suddenly. Funny how death can make us take a hard look at life, right? Anyway, I recall feeling soooo overwhelmed. I mean my odds of even getting published were about as good as winning the lottery. And the odds of becoming a best-selling author? Well, mathematically speaking, I had a slightly greater chance of being mauled by a black bear and polar bear on the same…

View original post 1,483 more words

Categories: Writing Ideas
  1. poetinjena
    October 25, 2013 at 12:53 PM

    Her blog is also on my list too! 🙂

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Like me enough to comment?

#1000Speak for Compassion

Speaking for GOOD on the 20th of every month

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

newauthoronline

K Morris, Poet and Author

andreaspiritualsoulpartners

Just another WordPress.com site

John Maberry's Writing

Excerpts from John's current or future work

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

baseballworldbjt

A Fan's Perspective on Major League Baseball

Elemental Mercury

Musings on a creative and spiritual life

The Real Delia

Home of Author, Delia Remington

deeannelizabethuptownstyle

Fashion,Jewelry,style,diamonds,purses,clothes

