Home > Uncategorized > When Your Family Doesn’t Support Your Writing

When Your Family Doesn’t Support Your Writing


I meant to reblog this last month and time once again got away from me. But this topic is a thorn in many writers’ lives. It has been mentioned over and over in threads I’ve started on LinkedIn, as it is here, along with the question of when to call yourself a writer or an author. We each handle our journey in our own way. But we must remember, it is our journey only! Those friends who break your heart by having no interest in your passion will slowly have less time and impact in your life, not because they leave, but because you lose patience with their me-me-me attitude. Some of them are genuine enough that they’re afraid they won’t like your writing and that might injure your friendship so they ignore the elephant in the room foolishly, instead of expressing their feelings. Writers: Do yourselves a favor: learn to grow a thick skin, and look at all the reasons why someone bashes your work or devotion to your passion. A small paradigm shift on your side helps to smooth things on their side. Never give up unless it’s your choice, and try your best to avoid one-sided relationships. It can’t be all about them, nor can it be all about you! Keep Calm and Write On!

Tricia Drammeh

Excuse me if this post gets a little rant-ish. Maybe you’ll relate to this, maybe you won’t. Maybe your family and friends are your personal cheerleaders. Or maybe your family told you to stop playing with your imaginary friends and get a job. Or maybe your family is like mine and happily supported you back when everyone thought you’d make it big, land a million-dollar publishing contract, and get a movie deal, but fell out of love with your writing once they realized that wasn’t going to happen.

Lack of support. This is a very painful topic, but it’s one I think it’s important to discuss. Writing is largely a solitary endeavor, often undertaken by introverts. But even though we’re introverts and we’ve decided to travel the often lonely path of the writer, we’re still human beings. We crave love, acceptance, and acknowledgement. We crave community, and who better to…

View original post 909 more words

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 15, 2014 at 11:58 AM

    Thanks for sharing my post. Linda. I love your advice. Writers definitely need to grow a thick skin, and the sooner we do that, the better. You’ve made an excellent point about some people avoiding the topic of your book because they don’t want to read it, or maybe they already read it and didn’t like it, but don’t want to hurt your feelings. In terms of support, I’m willing to settle for a lack of open hostility toward my writing. Giving up is NOT an option. 🙂

    Like

    • June 15, 2014 at 10:04 PM

      I’m with you, Tricia. Just prefer they don’t say anything and walk away; I won’t press for comment. Thanks for all you do, Tricia. I do appreciate you.

      Like

  2. June 15, 2014 at 12:04 PM

    Linny, Thank you for posting this. I do have the support of friends and family. But I also have some of the above who, “Don’t like that kind of story.” We will keep cheering the writers on. Maggy

    Like

    • June 15, 2014 at 10:02 PM

      I too was lucky with support, but still heard strange comments as I soldiered on. It’s hard on women, esp., to feel we have the right to follow our dreams.

      Like

  3. June 15, 2014 at 8:02 PM

    Linda: I want badly to write my own story now, since I released both a children’s book and a woman’s inspirational. My husband doesn’t like the idea. He says “why don’t you write something people will like. . .such as children’s books.” Slap, wham! I believe he’s afraid of what I’ll write about him, as is my older daughter who went through tough times for a while as a teen. I’ve held off doing it. But in the last 3 years I’ve dealt with a terminal diagnosis, and if I don’t write now, I won’t be around in 5-10 years to do it. Sort of caught in the middle

    Like

    • June 15, 2014 at 10:00 PM

      No, Rhonda. You’re not caught in the middle unless you want to be. You know exactly what you want ..and need … to write, and you must do it. You are now beyond the needs of others in this particular arena, and need to follow your own dictates to rest your own soul. My sixth sense tells me you will have the time to satisfy both, but write your own story first, even if you hold back on publishing it for a couple of months. We try so hard to please others, we lose track of what we need. Fulfill your circle first; it will give you the strength to finish what is requested of you. God speed and bless you in your journey.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Like me enough to comment?

#1000Speak for Compassion

Speaking for GOOD on the 20th of every month

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

newauthoronline

K Morris, Poet and Author

andreaspiritualsoulpartners

Just another WordPress.com site

John Maberry's Writing

Excerpts from John's current or future work

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

baseballworldbjt

A Fan's Perspective on Major League Baseball

Elemental Mercury

Musings on a creative and spiritual life

The Real Delia

Home of Author, Delia Remington

deeannelizabethuptownstyle

Fashion,Jewelry,style,diamonds,purses,clothes

