Home > Life and Writing > Letter to My 1-Month-in-the-Future Challenged Self

Letter to My 1-Month-in-the-Future Challenged Self


 

Dated September 1, 2014            Written August 1, 2014


Hi Linny!

Well, you did it!  You actually committed to a challenge and finished it for a change! That in itself is a major miracle. You didn’t let anything or anyone stand in your way. You remembered that writing first thing in the morning is the best way to get it done, and you did it.

Now, why did I do the challenges? Well, for one, I have all these great resources online that I don’t take advantage of. Spiritual Badass [http://bit.ly/1oO4JB4] is a new resource for me, and has started this Magic Up Your Blog Challenge! just when I was determined to spend hot August days concentrating on my writing again. There are a lot of great distractions for the attention deficit afflicted on the Web, but not all of them get me to where I need to be. And the biggest thing I need to do is write, write, write! So, I signed up for two writing challenges!

What did I hope to achieve? Again, it’s mostly the write/write/write requirement. But in all honesty, I was looking for that secret ingredient to turn my blog posts into magic (I know this isn’t it!), make them more informative while revealing more about myself, my talent and my message. Yeah, about that talent. I reminded myself that writing these blog posts are just like my advertising/marketing writing. There has to be a purpose or point to the post, with a catchy title, intriguing lead-in, point by point buildup to the big VOILA! Great take away! But I felt my blog writing was different, and realized it is, but only in voice and topic.

I wouldn’t give up on my blog, although writing fiction is easier than writing blog posts for me. It reminds me of the paralegal course I took. I found the hardest part of that course was learning to write legalese, which I thought would be the easiest part! So, history repeats.

What steps did I take to make sure I could reach the finish line? I started my days with the challenge of writing, easily finishing in 25 minutes the necessary, fulfilling, satisfying work. Any writing exercise is good writing exercise. I also avoided any additional online training unless it was something I’d already begun or paid for (like List-a-Palooza or Writer’s Digest tutorials).

My fears were that something would happen to distract me from my work, or I’d hit a snag and skip some of it, or just get bored with it. Or someone would come begging for me to help them out of a bind. I know me – any excuse could derail me. But I persevered determined!

Now it’s my birthday month. I’ll be having family arrive, and I’ll deserve a few days out, happily ahead of the game with blogs sitting in the queue. The dogs will just have to cope!

With Love, Linny

Categories: Life and Writing
  1. August 1, 2014 at 8:52 PM

    Hey Linny, I love your letter to your future self. It was fun to read and a very creative approach to the prompt. When I’ve done these kind of letters I’ve found them to be truly supportive. Plus while I know better and shouldn’t be surprised, later when I go back to read my letter I am still enchanted and amazed by how my intentions have revealed themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 1, 2014 at 10:31 PM

      Thanks, Jan. I had some real personal stuff in there, but cleaned it up for public consumption! First time I tried this. Might do more, like one for the 1st of January. Calling all Universe power!

      Like

  2. August 3, 2014 at 3:30 AM

    Hi Linny, I love the idea of your future self writing as if you’ve already finished the challenge. Clever stuff! It’s like giving the unconscious mind instructions on how the next month is going to pan out, and you just know it’s going to be spot on. I’ve done similar things like this before, but only in meditation visualisations, I love the thought of writing a letter instead, and I’m going to give this a go! Blessings, Andrea

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 3, 2014 at 2:57 PM

      Thank you, Andrea.Wish I could say it was a completely original idea! I too will use this again when faced with a tough challenge. Let me know how it goes for you. I’m curious for both of us!

      Like

  3. August 21, 2014 at 12:11 AM

    LUV IT! great post, m’Lady 🙂

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Like me enough to comment?

#1000Speak for Compassion

Speaking for GOOD on the 20th of every month

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

newauthoronline

K Morris, Poet and Author

andreaspiritualsoulpartners

Just another WordPress.com site

John Maberry's Writing

Excerpts from John's current or future work

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

baseballworldbjt

A Fan's Perspective on Major League Baseball

Elemental Mercury

Musings on a creative and spiritual life

The Real Delia

Home of Author, Delia Remington

deeannelizabethuptownstyle

Fashion,Jewelry,style,diamonds,purses,clothes

