Home > Life and Writing > Bucket List? Vision Board? Try Kicking & Screaming!

Bucket List? Vision Board? Try Kicking & Screaming!



Day 5 of the Magic Up Your Blog Challenge gave us a choice of writing 1) What’s on your bucket list? or 2) What’s on your vision board? Yikes!

Here’s My Overview of Bucket Lists:

If you need a list that tells you what you really want to do, and when it’s checked off you will happily say “I led a good life … I can die now,” you’re living WRONG! (Yeah, I know, poor grammar. It’s the way I rant.)

The things I want to accomplish are so BIG and MANY they will never get out of my mind. They are legion. Can’t you hear them screaming from where you are?

If we really only have one go at a life on this planet, in this universe, how can you reduce what you haven’t done yet down to a list? Maybe an extremely long novel. Better yet, Wikipedia-size. Aren’t there things in Wiki you haven’t read yet? Have you done all the free on-line courses? Hell, I just discovered Great Courses. Yeah, you have to pay, but it’s a gold mine! Have you driven the length of Route 66? Drive up the California coastline? From Baja? Shop at the Mall of America? Go all around the border of the state you live in, visiting each town? Stay up all night watching the sky in Area 51? These are things that just popped out of my head, and I’ve hardly left the West Coast!

When my time comes, whoever loses the draw to accompany me to the other side will have their hands full. I’ll be kicking and screaming that I’m not finished yet. And it will have nothing to do with a bucket list.

Now, About That Vision Board:

I always visualized myself as creative, and tried to bring it out of my head and into my hands. Never worked. If I try to create a collage, it just looks like someone vomited pictures.

I tried to create a vision board once. I got a poster-sized piece of foamcore and went to work. When I had worked on it for a while, I hung it on the wall by my desk and figured I would add to it as I found more pictures.

The next morning, I was reminded of a Chevy Cavalier I owned once. Nearly every morning when I entered my garage to drive to work, an unidentifiable car part was lying on my garage floor. But the damned car still ran (well … as well as it ever did). I finally got nervous that my garbage men, disposing of these strange parts, would think I was killing cars, or running a used parts business, so I bought a new car.

That’s about the same story as the vision board. First pieces fell off. Then the whole board fell off the wall every night, so I propped it up on the top shelf of my desk. It fell off that too and started to break off pieces of the foamcore. I think my writing muses were embarrassed, or the vision board was trying to commit suicide. My garbage men got that too, but I didn’t replace it. The closest thing I have to a physical vision board is my refrigerator. I took a photo of it for this blog, and would upload it if I could find the cord to connect my camera to the computer {sigh}. Enough said.

My vision board/bucket list is in my head. New things are added to it all the time. The more I do, the more I learn, the more I know I have a hell of a lot more to do and learn. If the time ever comes that I’m bored, can’t come up with something to do, learn, play, watch … and there’s no cluttered counter, desk or table to clean off, then I’ll finally go quietly, because I’ll inherently know I used up all my brain cells.

 

Categories: Life and Writing
  1. August 5, 2014 at 8:50 PM

    Love the legion reference Linda, I totally get that! I tried my hand at a vision board, same foamcore, printed out a bunch of photos from the internet, then it ended up in the trash. If you haven’t read Nicole Ortega’s take on vision boards, you should take a look, she has a great perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 5, 2014 at 9:16 PM

      I did read her post, after I read yours. She reminded me of some of those decorative plaques they carry in variety stores with words about family, love, peace, etc. They work the same way if you can find one or two that express for you. It’s definitely hard to maintain the balance in creative work between ego and Spirit. Creatives are so invested in their art. Glad you got the Legion reference!
      Thank you for stopping by, Renee. Appreciate it.
      — Linda

      Like

  2. August 5, 2014 at 11:53 PM

    Bucket lists and Vision boards eh. Hmm, I don’t think either would work for me. I’m too spontaneous to be able to work towards a specific target on a bucket list and anyway, my brain suggests something different every day.
    As for the memory board, NO Way Jose, I couldn’t be directed chapter by chapter what to write, who to include etc. That would remove all the fun I get flying by the seat of my pants.
    I can understand the targets of the former for some people, especially those with an ongoing illness but mostly I think it’s people with structured lives who benefit from both of these, and my life is just not that structured.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 6, 2014 at 3:47 PM

      I’m not what they call a pantser, David, but I do change my mind as often as commercials come on the television! Plus Distraction is my middle name. Is that normal for writers, I wonder? Glad we agree again! Thank you for sharing, and participating in my blogging adventure.

      Like

  3. August 6, 2014 at 7:17 AM

    Loved this post! I also tried a vision board once; it was just irritating clutter. Bits of paper kept falling off and I accidentally vacuumed up a favourite necklace I’d been hanging off one of the pins, so actually I have a sub-conscious suspicion and antipathy towards vision boards. I’m really glad to see there are other people in the world who don’t have bucket lists or vision boards. Although I no longer feel unique I am fine with this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 6, 2014 at 3:52 PM

      You are officially Designated as the Bringer of My First Belly Laugh of the Day, Andrea! First the paper falls off, but the necklace swallowed in the belly of the vacuum, and your “sub-conscious suspicion and antipathy towards vision boards” had me on the floor. I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. John
    August 7, 2014 at 8:27 AM

    People who make lists have entirely too much time on their hands, I have a hard enough time trying to figure out what to make for breakfast, so many options! Cookies or something maybe Breakfast Tacos, Pancakes! Perhaps I’ll forego breakfast all together and head right on into supper, and have Steak… although steak and eggs is always good for breakfast… why do people always put useless sides like potatoes next to steak, why can’t it be something neat like oh I don’t know Asparagus… or Spinach cheese casserole… I saw a horrible rescipie for shepherds pie involving dinty more stew… WHAT? sorry Linny Rambling don’t mean to. I think if you need a list you are looking at the ground too much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 7, 2014 at 12:45 PM

      Hey, John. Rambling I understand. I forgot about Dinty Moore! Way back many years ago I was recently divorced, working two jobs to save the house, poor as hell, and the dogs and cats came first. When I had a craving for beef I would splurge on that stew. It was dirt cheap back then and I could stretch it to 3 meals for myself. Ah, the good ol’ days. Now I cook everything, — dog food, fritatas, oatmeal bran muffins, and figs & pancetta with garlic over pasta from my very own fig tree! Thanks for the walk down memory lane. The only list I make regularly is an ongoing grocery list, or if I forgot to pay bills.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Like me enough to comment?

#1000Speak for Compassion

Speaking for GOOD on the 20th of every month

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

newauthoronline

K Morris, Poet and Author

andreaspiritualsoulpartners

Just another WordPress.com site

John Maberry's Writing

Excerpts from John's current or future work

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

baseballworldbjt

A Fan's Perspective on Major League Baseball

Elemental Mercury

Musings on a creative and spiritual life

The Real Delia

Home of Author, Delia Remington

deeannelizabethuptownstyle

Fashion,Jewelry,style,diamonds,purses,clothes

