Home > Life and Writing, Life Is Messy > Those We Meet on Our Spiritual Path

Those We Meet on Our Spiritual Path



Day 11 of the MAGIC UP YOUR BLOG Challenge! If you’d like to join the party, go here: http://bit.ly/1oO4JB4We’re just warming up so start where we are today!

 

Today is all about meeting and relating to others walking a spiritual path, and the benefits and sometimes pitfalls you might find along the way.

My friend Jan calls me a curmudgeon. That’s OK. She’s earned that right having known me for more than 30 years, helping each other with practically every problem a woman can trip into. She’s right. I’m part hermit, and a bit eccentric with equal parts attention deficit and obsessive compulsive tendencies. Words fall as easily out of my mouth as they do typed into my computer, and I often question the wisdom of those words equally. Why do I unveil myself as such a character? To show that if I easily meet spiritual people, so can anyone.

My opinion is that there are no more or less spiritual individuals alive today than before. We have souls. We are all on a spiritual journey of some sort. For some it is very private. For others it is still shared in traditional settings, which provide safe, organized and ritualistic guidance on that path. The Catholic church brought me far down my path. I needed the ancient traditions and rituals. I still love the Latin Mass, though it doesn’t fall as easily off my tongue as it once did. Other people need to create their own rituals, studying philosophy and other beliefs, communing with nature and wildlife.

Personally, I don’t care if you dance naked in the moonlight, as long you have found your way to express your Gratitude, Hope, Love and Peace. And because I love to chat and learn (hey, I’m a writer), people open up. Both online and in line at a grocery store, conversation should flow easily between spirits. Just relax into it. Everybody’s not out to steal from you.

True, it seems our planet Earth is on an unusual upswing with spiritualism, but I see that as manifesting because:

(a) there exists the ability to communicate all the bad news to everybody in record time, numbers, and outlets, making it seem there is more bad news than ever before. And

(b) the same possibilities exist for spiritual people to reach out, communicate, pontificate (as I admit to doing at times in this blog), educate, and hopefully spread all the good news, assisting others in their journey, struggles and sorrows.

(c) We are tired of Wars of all sorts: War on Poverty, on Drugs, on Discrimination, on Bullying. We are tired of finding less money available to help our own citizens while we help other countries fight wars that are not ours. We do not want war anymore of any sort, including the Republicans vs. the Democrats. Fix the problems or stop pretending you’re doing something and resign. We don’t want to pay your salary any more either. We want peace.

Unfortunately, I have experienced several pitfalls in this spiritualistic reaching out:

  1. Joint Ventures – I assume several individuals/organizations have connected to reach the largest number of people. Because they don’t compare lists, I receive the identical offers from several sources. I am starting to disconnect from a large number of them. JV’s should be complimentary but different.
  2. How to Make Six or Seven Figures – How many spiritual people can only teach money-making techniques? If I ever make that kind of money, it will be because my books are entertaining to read and reach the correct audience. It won’t be because of my spiritual path. It truly makes me wonder why you consider yourself a spiritual business.
  3. Buy! Buy! Buy! – Sending me three emails a day, six days a week won’t make me even want to buy from you! It will make me Unsubscribe. We all have to make a living, but quality sells. If you don’t want to teach or distribute information for free, than don’t do it. Send me a short, quality email telling me what I will gain by purchasing from you, or ask for a donation. Either way, it’s how you present what you present that will make me decide. And my decision is my own. I actually sat through a free webinar where they taught that some people will never buy no matter how many free offers you give them, insinuating there’s something wrong with those people – just write them off and hope they unsubscribe. Hello? Are you targeting the right market? Did you also forget every person on that webinar was in at no cost to themselves?
  4. OK. One more pitfall and I send the Curmudgeon back to her cave. Exchanging Lists and Promoting Without Full Disclosure – This has been a new experience recently, and I expect it to spread. I receive a free offer. I click on it and leave my email (of course). The next day I get two emails; one from my original source, and one from the new source. They are both offering freebies. Duh, stupidly I clicked on both to see what would happen. Two more requests for emails. See where this is going? Wonder why I get more than 120 emails a day? Guess what? You don’t have to worry about giving away your work. I’m now done with freebies! These people are making a business out of promoting each other. JV again at its finest?

This is just an example of how people take advantage of our culture and ‘trending’ opportunities. I really don’t mean to insult anyone here, but please be aware of what is happening, and how you are perceived.

Last point? It shouldn’t be difficult to meet people, spiritual outies or private. If you’re authentic and put yourself out there just a bit, like souls will find you. They will flock to share this great experience we are sharing on Planet Earth.

 

  1. August 11, 2014 at 7:04 PM

    It is always a good reminder to be aware of how you present yourself to others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 12, 2014 at 3:41 PM

      There’s a fine line we walk in learning to do everything right. Then you have to remember every ‘business’ has some ignorant — and unethical — members out there, hurting our chances to be heard. Thanks for your comment, Mary.

      Like

  2. August 11, 2014 at 8:46 PM

    Don’t go too far back in your cave will you?
    xxx Mega Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. August 12, 2014 at 8:02 AM

    Your post really resonated with me today. I get very tired of the hard sell that we get in any business area, it makes it difficult to get the balance right between making a living and going overboard. I am very wary of any ‘free’ gifts now and only do it if I really really want it, fully aware I’ll probably have to unsubscribe if I get more than one email a week. Although I use it myself to try and build a list because that appears to be important, I do wonder how effective it is in finding genuine interested followers as opposed to people who are just after free stuff. Time will tell. I don’t think it’s wrong to want to earn money, but some of the hard sell techniques don’t really sit well with me. Great post! Andrea

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 12, 2014 at 3:49 PM

      Thank you, Andrea. If you’ve worried about it you won’t do it. As long as you’re available, and you have a place like your website and blog, where they can see what you do, how you do it, and get to know you, they will come. Your sincerity will make you successful!

      Like

  4. steffie
    August 12, 2014 at 10:32 AM

    Loved this post and agree that when you are on your own path people will naturally open up and talk to you like they feel their message is safe with you. Thank you for sharing your insights on the pitfalls too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 12, 2014 at 3:51 PM

      Thanks, Steffie. I was afraid I would upset people with my list of pitfalls. But if they annoyed me, then they must annoy others as well. Appreciate your remarks.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. August 12, 2014 at 9:46 AM

Like me enough to comment?

#1000Speak for Compassion

Speaking for GOOD on the 20th of every month

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

newauthoronline

K Morris, Poet and Author

andreaspiritualsoulpartners

Just another WordPress.com site

John Maberry's Writing

Excerpts from John's current or future work

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

baseballworldbjt

A Fan's Perspective on Major League Baseball

Elemental Mercury

Musings on a creative and spiritual life

The Real Delia

Home of Author, Delia Remington

deeannelizabethuptownstyle

Fashion,Jewelry,style,diamonds,purses,clothes

