Home > Life and Writing, Life Is Messy, Writing Ideas > My Favorite Quote (of the Day)

My Favorite Quote (of the Day)



Yesterday was Day 13 of the MAGIC UP YOUR BLOG Challenge! I’m only 12 hours late! Hopefully there will be two posts today; my yesterday fell apart because I over-committed again. Are you ready to challenge yourself yet? Go here: http://bit.ly/1oO4JB4 – We’re just doing the best we can, and there’s still 18 days left!

The topics are My Favorite Quote or my Philosophy of Life. Let’s see where this take us.


To make a prairie

by Emily Dickinson, 1830 – 1886

To make a prairie it takes a clover and one bee
One clover, and a bee.
And revery.
The revery alone will do,
If bees are few.

Don’t ever ask me to state my favorite quote, because I’d be tongue-tied. Just a few days ago I rediscovered this little piece of prose in poetry. A career-coach’s syndicated column appears in the Las Vegas Review-Journal every Sunday. This was the subject of his column on July 27 (so I’m a little behind in my reading, alright?). You can find Mr. Amdur at http://www.amdurcoaching.com, as well as on Facebook. Find his archived posts in the left navigation bar.

Mr. Amdur turned the column into a rant against mobile media. He was at the end of his vacation in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, walking with his wife when he saw this quote carved into the 2nd-story cornerstone of a building. Had he not been looking up, he would have missed it, and wondered how many wonderful and inspiring things get missed by those staring down at their electronics. I am not turning this into such a rant.

But I will mention the serendipity (one of my current favorite words) of finding and saving that column, with the intent to write about the poem in my blog, just a couple of days before needing a favorite quote to write about in the Blog Challenge. That simply blows me away. It is also a perfect example of that poem in action.

I browse the papers for writing ideas. I read them for research for my books. I work from home now, so I need to stay current on all the ‘water-cooler’ trending topics I miss, but net news and TV news give incomplete, often biased reports. You have to dig for more information, where our newspapers often publish opposing views right on the same pages. (I digress again.)

Oh yes, the serendipity! The newspaper is my fertile prairie. My trained eye is the bee. My crazy brain provides the reverie (spelling in 2014). To me as a writer, this poem is about my creativity. Finding that nugget, cleaning it, shaping it, polishing it until it shines. The reverie can be a dream while sleeping, a fleeting thought while daydreaming, or your subconscious reading a headline and sparking up your intuition about possibilities to make you take notice.

We can all come up with our own examples based on how you use creativity in your life and work. I’d love to hear your interpretations below.  And if you find you’re unable to use creativity in your life and work, if you think that’s just for the very young, and work is too serious to trust to dreams and daydreams – Get your head out of your Smart Phone!

  1. August 15, 2014 at 8:42 AM

    You remind me of the day I accidentally left my cell phone at home before driving two hours away to visit some friends – my first reaction was gut-wrenching panic. Then I felt FREE. I was able to focus on my friends and my surrounding without any distractions. It makes me want to get my “face out of the screen” and be more aware of where I am: inspiration is everywhere, waiting for us to notice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 15, 2014 at 1:24 PM

      Isn’t it the truth, LesWatkins? I worked through the pager generation, carriers constantly pulling it off their belt to see who was paging them. Their time was not their own any more. So when I saw where cell phones were going, I vowed not to get sucked in. I finally had to buy a pay-as-you-go for emergencies. There are no more pay phones! Now I realized I’m missing a lot in the smart phones’ capabilities, so that day may be approaching. But QVC has one occasionally featured at a good price, comes with a year’s use (within restrictions) and no contract. I still intend to fight the addiction!

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Like me enough to comment?

#1000Speak for Compassion

Speaking for GOOD on the 20th of every month

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

newauthoronline

K Morris, Poet and Author

andreaspiritualsoulpartners

Just another WordPress.com site

John Maberry's Writing

Excerpts from John's current or future work

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

baseballworldbjt

A Fan's Perspective on Major League Baseball

Elemental Mercury

Musings on a creative and spiritual life

The Real Delia

Home of Author, Delia Remington

deeannelizabethuptownstyle

Fashion,Jewelry,style,diamonds,purses,clothes

