My 12 Rules for Life


My Salute to Ayn Rand via Wikipedia

My Salute to Ayn Rand via Wikipedia


My challenge today was to write my Creed, Manifesto, or personal 10 Commandments.

When I hear the term Manifesto, I get very nervous. (There’s a sad, dirty cabin in the woods way way up north where a hermit lives with rifles, assault weapons and a manifesto that lies in piles on the floor and stapled to the walls.)

As a Catholic, the Creed and Commandments are something very different and specific.

So I chose to write my personal rules for life and living. As a Romance writer, I thought it appropriate to show another author’s cover to remind us we all have our own manifesto. Ayn Rand had volumes to say about hers.

Linda Taylor’s 12 Rules for Life and Living

  1. Honor the Planet Earth that we all share.
  2. Honor the Universe that we share.
  3. Honor all the Inhabitants of the Earth and Universe, past, current and future, human, alien, animal, vegetable, mineral, and the water with which we maintain life and share.
  4. Honor and Respect all Inhabitants’ Existence, Beliefs and Points of View, even if unspoken.
  5. Honor and Respect their Freedom and Independence.
  6. Cause, Allow, and/or Do No Harm.
  7. Clean what is Dirty.
  8. Feed what is Hungry.
  9. Heal what is Hurt.
  10. Love what is not Loved.
  11. Always offer a helping hand when you are able.
  12. Honor, Respect, Protect, Love, and Guide Yourself.

Life is Precious.

  1. August 29, 2014 at 10:39 PM

    Couldn’t have been better put. xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. August 30, 2014 at 7:15 AM

    That’s a really lovely way to live a life…not going to go far wrong with that, for me that would sum up the secret of happiness. Lovely uplifting post thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 30, 2014 at 12:35 PM

      Thanks, Andrea. I have to work at it, but I always keep in mind how I want others to treat me. Peace!

      Like

  3. August 30, 2014 at 7:49 AM

    This is such a great idea. The world would be a better place if everyone followed these rules.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 30, 2014 at 12:39 PM

      I don’t always succeed, Tricia. Many a stupid rant escapes my lips! And, I avoid those who don’t treat me well, so that helps. I wish everyone would post their personal rules. We would immediately know what was of most importance to them. Sending good wishes your way!

      Like

  4. September 20, 2014 at 1:47 PM

    Hi Linda! I just had a message from Kate Wrath to say that you had been hoping to win a copy of The Dark Citadel. Can I send you one anyway, even if you didn’t win? I’m always thrilled to bits when someone says they’re interested in the story. Just send me your email address and I’ll get a copy off to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Like me enough to comment?

#1000Speak for Compassion

Speaking for GOOD on the 20th of every month

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

newauthoronline

K Morris, Poet and Author

andreaspiritualsoulpartners

Just another WordPress.com site

John Maberry's Writing

Excerpts from John's current or future work

KATE JACK'S BLOG

Reading, writing, new authors

baseballworldbjt

A Fan's Perspective on Major League Baseball

Elemental Mercury

Musings on a creative and spiritual life

The Real Delia

Home of Author, Delia Remington

deeannelizabethuptownstyle

Fashion,Jewelry,style,diamonds,purses,clothes

